If I Knew I Could Not Fail, 2.0 – or 10 Goals For 2016

If I Knew I Could Not Fail

In October I wrote a post about the 5 things I’d do if I could not fail.  The end of the year seems like a good time to update and expand that list.

The original list, somewhat condensed, follows.

  1. Revenue of $2,325.00 at the Indiana State Fair.
  2. Have a functional website with a sales page.
  3. Create more patterns for sale.
  4. Dye more yarns in slightly larger groups, instead of so many one off yarns.
  5. Create a well organized dedicated dye studio.

I have created the dye studio, so number 5 can fall off the list.  Hurray!

I did some year end brainstorming and came up with this list for 2016.

  1. Revenue of $2,325.00 at the Indiana State Fair.
  2. Have a functional website with a sales page.
  3. Create more patterns for sale.
  4. Dye more yarns in slightly larger groups, instead of so many one off yarns.
  5. Become a better spinner on my spinning wheel.  I will spin 5 minutes daily.  For me, getting started is the hardest part, if I start I will probably go longer than 5 minutes.  More spinning equals more skill.
  6. Develop skills at creating and spinning batts.  I will attend class at least twice a month.
  7. Go to a spinning retreat.  I have signed up for a retreat in January.
  8. Offer more handspun yarns for sale.
  9. Learn enough about fleeces and processing them to buy a fleece at the state fair.
  10. Change the way I eat and drop eating patterns that are not in line with my health goals.

My experience with this whole exercise has been that writing these down has some kind of magical way of making them happen.  Somehow the scariness drops away and they become achievable, or at least possible.  And the brain turns them over and comes up with ways to make them reality.

Try this for yourself and let me know about your results.  I think you might be surprised!

A fiber picture to close for my friends who love such things.

 

IMG_5496
These gorgeous skeins are the result of a new technique I’ve been trying.    Watch for more info on this soon.

 

7 thoughts on “If I Knew I Could Not Fail, 2.0 – or 10 Goals For 2016”

      1. I’ll fix that link, thanks for letting me know it gave you trouble. And thanks for checking out my Etsy shop. Do you have a website?

        1. It still just links back to your blog here?
          Yes I have an Etsy shop as well as one on handmadeartists.com (I’m Mulchandmore on both) And I’m working on this blog to eventually turn it into my main web site–lots of learning to do!

  1. Hi, IndigoKitty—thanks for following my blog! I LOVE they experimental dye job above—most intriguing. Congratulations on setting up your dye studio, that’s so exciting, and something to which I aspire. Good luck with your 2016 goals!
    curvylou

Leave a Reply

