Friday Finds, December 4, 2015

The things that made me go “hmmm” this week:

As an amateur Egyptologist I am fascinated by King Tut.

king tut

There is evidence his tomb contains hidden chambers.  Will this reignite King Tut fever and bring tourists back to Egypt?  Read about it here.

In other spooky desert news, scientists have discovered that tarantulas have evolved the exact shade of blue at least 8 times.  Why?  That’s a mystery.   They theorize that there is a “receiver” of the color who is not another tarantula.  I wonder who/what it is?  Inquiring minds want to know!  Showing my science geekiness now.

For knitters who have a hole in your project due to a broken yarn (and hasn’t that happened to all of us?) here is a fix using duplicate stitch.

My first handspun yarn was knit into a cowl and after I wore it a few times the yarn broke.  I have been wondering how to repair it without ripping the whole thing out.  I’m going to try this method!

If you have a better way to repair holes in hand knits, I’d love to know about it!

As is my traditional closing on Friday posts, here is a picture of juicy fiber goodness.  This one is for spinners looking for eye candy.

IMG_5382
Rolags!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

