Decluttering – Seven Things At A Time

My house feels like it’s about to explode with stuff. Some days it feels like every flat surface is covered with junk and all closets are filled to the brim.

too much crap

I read somewhere that a manageable way to get back to a beautiful place is to get rid of seven things a day. They can be given away, sold, recycled or just trashed. My first choice is always given away or sold. Things mostly end up given away. Second choice is the recycling bin. Last and least popular choice is the garbage can.

One day last week I went through the shelf of coffee cups. I was amazed to find I was holding onto four chipped or cracked cups, just because I loved them. Part of me said, “they are broken, junk them”. The other part responded, “but Peter gave that one to me”, or” I bought that with my mom in Michigan”. Like it is for many of us, it’s difficult for me to discard things that have memories attached, even though the actual memory is, of course, unaffected by trashing the physical item. That is one reason my house is full of stuff.

Another reason is my laziness.

Another reason – kids.  Mine are packrats.  It’s hard for them to let go of old things.  They aren’t naturally organized or neat.  They are super busy with school.   And they like clothes, makeup, shoes.  All this makes a perfect storm of clutter.

Here is my motto on this project.


keep-calm-get-organized-blue

Some days go better than others.  Lots of days I forget, or don’t get around to it, or just plain can’t be bothered.  But – I want to stop feeling this way.

clutter

So, I’ll keep trying.

And now, I’m going to go find 7 things to get rid of.

Leave a Reply

