Waves

Been working like a maniac on a very nice pattern, it’s the Wave Cowl. But, problems have reared their stinking, rotten, ugly heads.

1. Where the blasted hell are all my size US 10 needle tips? I buy needles like a maniac, but can never find any, so I have been using 1 set of 10’s and a set of 9’s. The size 9’s hold the stitches I knit into and the 10’s hold the newly created stitches. Sounds like a great plan, right? Except – the pattern calls for short rows, so I am turning and going back and forth over the same area a few times, meaning I need to keep moving needle tips. This is getting a bit like a Marx Brothers movie, so I’m going to just put it aside and borrow needle tips from Cheryl.

2. I clearly forgot to pick up three lousy wraps two repeats back, as evidenced by the big holes showing.

I’m going to have to rip out a lot of work, which made me so angry I could barely sleep last night.

Not touching this #*)&! thing again until I have those size 10 tips, then I will just bit the bullet and rip back, fix my screw ups and begin again.

All that being said, it’s a beautiful pattern, and this yarn (Rowan Colourscape Chunky in Heath colorway) is a perfect choice.  The short rows work amazingly well to highlight the color transitions.  It’s going to be divine!

Leave a Reply

