HoHo and Milo Mitts

Here is my next Wingspan, using Knitpicks Chroma Fingering, in the Mesa Colorway.  Loving it!  These are like potato chips for me, I can’t make just one.  I wasn’t very happy as I was knitting along early in the shawl and came to a knot where the color changed very abruptly and the direction of the color changes started going backwards.  Not sure how this will look, there’s just no way to tell until I knit quite a lot more.  Very annoying.  Otherwise, I do like this yarn, it’s super soft!

HoHo decided he needed to supervise the photography.  He is another rescue, from the first litter of kittens from Indianapolis Animal Care and Control that I fostered for reTails.  He was very, very sick with distemper as a baby, I had to syringe feed him for over a week (what a mess that was), so he’s kind of my special boy now.  His official name is Hermes, but that group turned into HoHo, PoPo (Poseidon), FroFro (Aphrodite), and NoNo (Apollo), the other two kittens, Zeus and Artemis, died of distemper.  The four survivors were also sick, but pulled through.  There were a lot of tears shed (by me) during this time!  The whole month of June 2010 was given over to kitten intensive care, including several meds, nebulizer treatments, force feedings, cleaning three times a day horribly frightening eyes that I was sure were going to be removed in the end (none were, unbelievably).  NoNo was never in good health, we adopted him also, he developed FIP (Feline Infectious Peritonitis) this time last year and died.  I can’t believe it’s been a year!  He was 18 months old.  It was heartbreaking.  But, I’d do it all again in a minute.

According to the reTails database, I have fostered over 100 cats for them in the last 2.5 years.  Many litters of kittens have grown up a little bit here.

Almost all of my fosters have been darling, loveable cats with great personalities, I never had another litter do as poorly as the first one, thank heavens.   Fostering has been one of the best experiences of my life.

I have only one foster right now, he is Milo Mitts, around 12 years old, very sweet, even though his gene pool is a bit shallow (as we joke), he has a very odd build, a very awkward walk and crazy staring eyes that seem to look in different directions.  He’s very, very sweet and just spends most of his day napping – no trouble at all.  He likes laps and being held like a baby!

There is an animal rescue group near you that needs fosters badly.  Please consider saving a life if you can.

1 thought on “HoHo and Milo Mitts”

  1. I love cats too and have had many over the years. I always have rescue cats and once had a mother cat and five kittens all together. I still have one of those kittens today. Bless you for the work that you do for our animal friends. I’m so glad you find it rewarding.

Leave a Reply

