Pagan Party

Had another great weekend here in Indianapolis.  On Saturday I took my two oldest daughters to the Indy Pagan Pride Day 2012.  This was my first visit to Pagan Pride Day, and the 14th Annual Pagan Pride Day held in Indy.  I believe it’s the largest such event in the Midwest, which surprises me.  I would expect Chicago to be the place to claim that distinction.  Maybe they have lots of smaller events in different areas of the city.

I had a great time browsing the product stalls and chatting with the vendors, and made a few purchases (of course).  I bought some lovely hand made soap from Body Eclectic Skin Care.  The very nice soapmaker had way too many choices.

After lots of sniffing, I chose “Borealis” which contains strawberry, blueberry, goji, and pomegranate.  It’s described as “fabulously flirty and fruity”.  Maybe I was hungry!  I would also like to try “Danae”, which is grapefruit, tangerine and amber – I wonder what amber smells like?  I love citrus fragrances, anything that comes in grapefruit scent is likely to land in my shopping cart.

There was also a soap with bacon fat in it – it smelled very odd to me!  It also contained liquid smoke.  It reminded me a bit of a wood fire, I guess that would be a masculine fragrance!

My other purchase was a small pendulum with a glass pendant.

I’ve been wanting one for a long time, ever since I experimented with them in my Reiki training.

I also met a very nice young man, I seem to recollect his name was Fred.  He was just visiting the festival with his caretaker, who was a vendor.

Since I am not a pagan, I did not realize that the Pagan Pride event coincided with a Pagan/Wiccan holiday, Mabon.  This holiday honors the harvest and celebrates the bounty of our earth.  Lovely!  And part of the festivities typically involve sharing with others.  The Pagan Pride Day collected two tons of donations for the Damien Center, and one ton of supplies for Indy Feral.  That’s a lot of sharing!

Here’s a Mabon blessing for all (a bit late perhaps, but still heartfelt).

On this day of equal light and darkness, may you find the balance you need in your life, may you be blessed with abundance of many kinds, and may you be surrounded by the people who love you.

After we finished shopping and people watching, the girls convinced me to take them to Noodles and Co for the first time (first time for me, they’ve been there many times).  Yes, I’m the last holdout to visit that restaurant.  I had Japanese Pan Fried Noodles with Tofu, which were quite nice, although nothing spectacular.  There are several vegan choices, which I do appreciate, it’s not always easy to eat out vegan style in Indy without special ordering.  I do order “off the menu”, but it’s nice to be able to just order.  Some of my friends seem a bit embarrassed when I order something “special”.  I absolutely hate when a big fuss is made about my food when eating out!

The noodles

And they also had a nice strawberry spinach salad, which could be veganized by just saying “no cheese, please”.

Then it was home again for a nap, and an afternoon and evening of knitting, a simple dinner and TV.  I had an assistant help me knit.

I did finish that shawl.  Pictures next time!

1 thought on “Pagan Party”

  1. Sounds like a wonderful day out. I’m glad you enjoyed it. I liked your purchases. Know just what you mean about the soaps. L and I did a fair bit of sniffing on Saturday too. I bought lavender this time.

Leave a Reply

