Lace Shawl Design

I have taken the Craftsy plunge and signed up for a class! Lace Shawl Design with Miriam Felton was my choice, as I hope to sharpen my skills in this area. I love many things about Craftsy classes. For a very reasonable cost you get access forever to the lessons, it’s easy to watch part of a class again and again until you “get it” or if you were interrupted (thanks, kids), and there’s a cool way to take notes that are saved in the lesson so you can find them later.

Miriam is easy to listen to and watch as she demonstrates what she’s teaching.  Occasionally she seems the teensy tiniest bit nervous, but that just makes her even more human and endearing.   I have finished lesson 4 of 13 and have learned a lot about charting lace.

I easily charted a very attractive pattern called Openwork Leaf from Barbara Walker’s wonderful book Treasury of Knitting Patterns.  However, I am having quite a lot of trouble charting Fluerette from the same book.  The stitch count changes and I am having a  murderous time figuring out how to chart that.  So, I am going to take Miriam’s advice and knit a swatch in the hopes I will understand the pattern enough to chart it correctly.  It’s a really pretty lace; the pattern is described as an “charming old French lace pattern (with a ) delicate, meshlike quality”.  Sounds ideal for a shawl.

Another thing I like about Craftsy is that you can ask questions, the instructor and other students will answer, so I know this will be resolved in the end!

I met my business partner and friend, Cheryl, along with our  friend Christel to knit yesterday.  We spent an hour and a half catching up and knitting away on our various projects.  I’m working on a scarf for my lovely sister, Linda.  It’s almost done and then I plan to knit a series of cowls for my kids.

They asked for cowls last year and I just never got them off the ground, so this year I am committed to them.  If my daughters actually ask me to hand knit something I am certainly willing to do it, especially something as easy as a plain ribbed cowl (which, to be truthful, I will probably find a bit boring ).

Cheryl brought a cowl she knit from some of my hand spun yarn to our little knitting group yesterday.  This is the first hand spun yarn I’ve created that I’ve seen knit up.  I was stunned and really amazed at its beauty.  It is so much more than I ever dreamed!  What do you think?

And here is a close up.

I have an idea for a series of lacy cowls.  When will I have time to write up those patterns?  I see many days in the near future with very little housework getting done (oh, let’s be honest – no housework being done).  Hope no one minds sandwiches for dinner (over and over).

Leave a Reply

