Temperature Wars

The recent warm weather has sparked the opening battles in the ongoing temperature war at my house.  One party (him) says “why are all these bloody windows open, it’s freezing, look, all the papers are blowing everywhere”.  Party #2 (me) says “I like fresh air, it’s nice out, put something on the papers”.    Muttering from P. #1.  I say “close the windows if you’re cold” and think “as soon as you leave, I’m opening every window in the house”.  Lots of dramatic window closing follows.  Aaah, spring.

I think it’s because he grew up with pretty much consistent weather all year round (cool and wet), and I grew up in Chicago, where for 5 1/2 months there is winter!  (well, when I was a kid anyway, don’t know what you call that craziness they just finished, didn’t look much like any winter I recognized!)  

When I was a kid, when you got a decent day in the spring, the grownups opened up the whole house until it got cold again (around an hour before sunset).  You just turned off the furnace and wore a sweater!  So that is what I do now, even though in Indianapolis our typical winter is nothing as dramatic and long as Chicago’s!

I’ve finished knitting the green Mae Geri scarf.  I have found scarves incredibly boring lately, and this was no exception.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s a nice pattern, the lace is really pretty.  Can’t say I love the way the rows along the sides want to fold over, but that’s what happens with a lace center and 3 stockinette stiches on the side.  Someday I’m going to figure out how to avoid that.  Is there a magic number of stitches to make the stockinette?  Some secret stitch to insert before the stockinette?  Knitting, your mysteries continue to engage me.  If someone could enlighten me about this, I’d be grateful.

Anyway, for some reason scarves are boring me to bits lately.  I think it’s because they don’t change shape, just endless repeats of the same, unchanging thing.  My short attention span is showing.

Here’s a picture of the finished scarf.  The whole thing like this, only really long.

Now, I’m on to the Hitchhiker shawlette.  Knitting this in Zauberball sock yarn.  If you click on the second colorway from the left you’ll see mine.  It’s a bright orange/yellow/pink/purple.  The yarn was a gift from my generous friend Birgit (hey Birgit!) and I’ve held onto it for a long time, couldn’t decide what to do with it.  It’s got a really long color repeat and is changing colors slowly across the shawl, looks beautiful.  It’s also getting wider and will finish as an asymmetrical shape with a sharp point on the (beginning corner) – much more interesting to knit.

What do you think of the colors?

Going to try to paint the dining room this weekend, so will probably be too busy/tired/frazzled to do much knitting (but the dining room should look great).  Going with a nice deep turqoise, that is supposed to enhance creativity and that is where I write my blog!  Let’s see if it gets noticeably better!

Leave a Reply

