A Perfect Day at the Beach

I finished a new shawl the other day.  I called it A Perfect Day at the Beach because the colors remind me of Lake Michigan, the sky, the sand, sunshine and beach grass.  My favorite beach in the world is at Saugatuck Dunes State Park in Saugatuck, MI, and every time I worked on this shawl I remembered many really spectacular days there with my family.  One of the best things about the park is the mile long walk through the hilly woods to the beach.  What a great way to start and end a day at the lakeside!  Although all that stuff we carry to the beach can get a bit heavy by the time we arrive.  I think it just makes relaxing in the sunshine that much more gratifying.

Picture

Here’s the pattern.  It’s called Pimpelliese.  I have no idea in the world what that means.  It doesn’t sound very pretty to my American ears, but it knits up into a very lovely triangular shawl that is easy to wear.  I used Knit Picks Stroll hand painted sock yarn.  I always enjoy working with this yarn.  It consistently knits up into a soft, springy, warm garment and I enjoy watching the colors change.

This item is for sale in my Etsy shop.  I’d really love to have one for myself, the colors are fabulous and the feel is so luxurious.  I think I will end up using my last ball of this yarn to make one to keep.   This colorway, Summer Vacation, has been discontinued, unfortunately.  I always wonder why my favorite colorways seem to be the ones that disappear.

Speaking of my Etsy shop, I spent a long time today trying to create a new banner for the shop.  After several hours of intensive concentration, numerous cups of coffee, and a fair amount of cursing – I bought a new banner from a graphic designer.  Check out my shop early next week to see it.

I just could not figure out how to get what I wanted.  And the banner I had was just not exciting, professional looking or really relevant to my shop.  So I bit the bullet and shelled out the price (a very very reasonable price) for a custom made banner.  And I supported an Etsy artisan in the bargain.  Pretty good deal if you ask me.

Leave a Reply

