Books, Books, Books

I promised books for today.  Currently I’m reading more than one book, as always.1.     The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron, subtitled A Spiritual Path to Higher Creativity

Liking it a lot.  Writing my morning pages.  Thinking about artist’s dates.  My business partner and I have formed a tiny book club to read it together.

2.     How To Sell Your Crafts Online by Derrick Sutton

Helpful so far (only finished 2 chapters).  I’ve implemented some changes to my Etsy store at the recommendation of this author.  I didn’t know anything about search optimization, and he did explain it a bit in simple terms that even a Luddite like me can understand.

3.     Living a Charmed Life: Your Guide to Finding Magic in Every Moment of Every Day by Victoria Moran

Having a little trouble with this one.  Just finding it hard to pick it up, although when I do, I like it.  Maybe this is more about my attention span than the book!  Might give up on this one.

4.     The Amazing Book of Useless Information by Noel Botham

I am a sucker for a good factoid book, although I am a bit suspicious about the truth of some of these.  And the section on math just plain creeped me out.  Ick, math, who wants to know more about that?  I actually finished this last night in bed.

The latest knitting book I read was

55 Christmas Balls to Knit: Colorful Festive Ornaments–Tree Decorations, Centerpieces, Wreaths, Window Dressings by Arne and Carlos

Picture

I really enjoyed this book – it was full of gorgeous photographs of their home in Norway, and it’s always fun to see how the other half lives.  I do recommend it for yarn addicts like me, it’s knitter’s eye candy with patterns, what’s not to like?Their artistic vision is quite different than mine.  They lean towards lots of primitives strewn around, beat up stuff everywhere.  I like a clutter-free Zen-type décor.  Camel colored walls with big closeup flower prints.  My house is not much like that, of course.  I have camel walls, but absolutely no big lush flower prints.  Someday.  My current décor is more of the clutter everywhere, every flat surface covered by stuff school.The knitted ornaments were quite imaginative for the most part.  Some were very traditional Scandinavian type patterns, but there were quite a few completely original designs – those were my favorites.  I really liked the pigs, the squirrel, the 3-leaf clover, the pinecone and one of the geometric patterns.  When Christmas is rolling around again I might try that geometric.I like geometrics in general, I love 1950s style sweaters.  My mother knit one in white, with black and multicolored diamonds up the sides of the arms (she probably knit it in 1957) that is really sharp, even though it is obscenely tiny on any of us.  For some mysterious reason people were apparently much smaller in the 1950s.  Maybe my 13 year old daughter could wear it.

Or one of these darlings!

Picture
Jackie (left) and Templeton (Templeton has been adopted)
Jackie is still available!
Leave a Reply

